My Current State: 

California School Visitation Law


Posted by Tamara

Parents and guardians in several states, including California, Illinois and Colorado, are allowed to take unpaid leave to attend school events, such as parent-teacher conferences.

California parents, guardians and grandparents with custody of K-12 children may school visitation leave, too. In fact, California has two separate school visitation leave laws. One applies to all employers and requires employees be given unpaid leave for disciplinary events at school, such as suspension.

The other California law applies to employers with 25 or more workers at the same location. Parents, guardians and grandparents with custody of K-12 children may take leave for classroom events, including concerts art shows, school plays and sporting events. Children in licensed daycare are covered by this law, too. The time off is limited to 8 hours per month and 40 hours per year. The time can be unpaid, PTO (Paid Time Off), vacation time or comp time as long as the worker adheres to the company’s leave policies For families where both parents work at the same company, the law currently allows only parent to take leave.

The law in Colorado, the Academic Activities Leave Law, provides workers in businesses with 50 or more workers up to 6 hours per month. This law applies to parents and guardians of children in kindergarten through 12th grade. The time must be taken in 3 hour increments and cannot exceed 18 hours per year. Supervisory employees are not eligible.

Illinois parents and guardians are allowed to take up to 8 hours of unpaid leave.

Texas parents and guardians may take school visitation leave, but only the employees who work for the Texas state government.

Not all states mandate that employers provide leave for school visitation. Utah, Arkansas, Tennessee and Utah do not require employers to provide school visitation leave for their employees, but they do recommend it.

 

 

 

 

Last 10 posts by Tamara

Leave a Reply