Posted by Tamara
Employers in several states, including Minnesota, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Vermont and Nevada, are required to provide employees with unpaid leave to attend school events.
California has instituted two school visitation laws which prevent businesses from taking negative action against workers who take time off for classroom events. One of the laws applies to employers of every size. Under this law, a parent or guardian are entitled to take unpaid leave to attend disciplinary events such as expulsion.
The other California school visitation law applies to employers with 25 or more workers. Parents, guardians and grandparents of children with kindergarten through grade 12 aged children may take time to attend concerts, art shows and other school events. The law applies to children in licensed daycare, as well. There are some limitations to how much time can be taken. Employees may take up to 8 hours per month and 40 hours per year. The time doesn’t have to be unpaid, but can also be PTO, vacation time or comp time. If both parents work for the same company, however, only one of them may take leave.
Colorado parents and guardians with children in K-12 may take 6 hours per month, in 3 hours increments, for a total of 18 hours per year. The relevant law is the Colorado Academic Activities Leave Law, and applies to employers with 50 or more workers. Paid leave may be substituted for the unpaid school visitation leave, but supervisory employees are not eligible.
Illinois’ state law allows parent and guardians to take up to 8 hours of unpaid leave.
Texas provides school visitation leave, but only for employees who work for the Texas state government.
A few states, including Arkansas, Tennessee, Utah and Louisiana, do not require employers to provide school visitation leave. They recommend it, but there is no legal mandate to do so.
Last 10 posts by Tamara
- Louisiana Employee Privacy Act - April 20th, 2011
- FMLA 101 – Mississippi Maternity Leave - April 19th, 2011
- Florida Overtime Update - April 18th, 2011
- Delaware Paid Holidays - April 15th, 2011
- North Carolina Employee Privacy Act - April 14th, 2011
- Wisconsin NLRA Poster Requirement - April 13th, 2011
- Ohio Maternity Leave - April 12th, 2011
- Georgia Overtime Update - April 11th, 2011
- Oklahoma Paid Holidays - April 8th, 2011
- Maryland Overtime Per Diem Update - April 7th, 2011