My Current State: 

DUA in California

Posted by Diane

The Disaster Unemployment Assistance program is a federal program that applies to many employees in states across the country, including employees in the state of California. When an employee has been in a disaster, the employee may be able to receive financial compensation from the federal government if the employee is no longer able to work because of personal injury or because of damage to the place of work in the disaster.

Types of disasters that may qualify for coverage include floods, fire, and storms. When an employee has been in any of these, the employee might receive financial compensation only if the President of the United States has declared the disaster to be a federal disaster. Once that declaration has been made, funds will be made available for employees that are no longer able to work because of the disaster.

Employees wishing to receive financial assistance from the DUA program cannot also be receiving unemployment benefits from the state of California or from any other state across the country. Also, employee may receive up to 29 months of financial assistance if they meet at least one of the following criteria:

·         The employee should have been employed at the time of the disaster and had every reason to believe that the employment would have continued if it had not been for the disaster.

·         The employee may also receive benefits if the employee was not yet employed, but had a contract that was scheduled to begin before the disaster struck.

·         The employee should no longer be able to work as a direct result of the disaster. For example, the employee should have been injured in the disaster or the employee should have worked for an employer that lost the workspace due to damage or destruction in the disaster.

·         Individuals that have become the head of the household as the result of the death of the previous head of the household may also qualify for coverage. CB

Last 10 posts by Diane

Leave a Reply