My Current State: 

DUA in Arizona

Posted by Diane

The Disaster Unemployment Assistance program is a federal program that is administered by the federal government. When there is a disaster, such as a storm, a fire, or a flood, that displaces workers from work, those employees that can no longer work may be able to receive federal funds. The financial assistance could possibly be available to qualifying employees for a period of up to 29 months after the period of emergency.

Not all disasters will qualify for coverage under the DUA. In order for a disaster to qualify, it needs to be declared a federal disaster by the President of the United States. Only then can the federal funds be made available to help workers that can no longer work as a direct result of the disaster.

Employees wishing to receive financial assistance under the program cannot also be receiving unemployment insurance payments from any state, including from the state of Arizona. Those employees must also meet some of the following criteria:

·         The employee should have been employed at the time of the disaster in a position that would have continued if it had not been for the disaster.

·         If the employee was not currently employed but has a position that was set to begin, the employee may also receive financial assistance under the program.

·         The worker needs to be out of work as a direct result of the disaster. For example, the worker needs to have been injured in the disaster and unable to work. Alternatively, if the employee’s place of work has been damaged or destroyed in the disaster, the individual may qualify to receive coverage if he or she can no longer go to work.

·         If an individual became the head of the household as a result of the death of the previous head of the household in the disaster, the individual could receive compensation. CB

Last 10 posts by Diane

Leave a Reply