My Current State: 

North Carolina Seat Belt Ticket Laws


Posted by Carolyn

If you live or plan on driving through North Carolina, seat belt ticket laws are something that you may want to familiarize yourself with. There are two types of safety belt laws, primary and secondary. A primary law allows a law enforcement officer to write a ticket if he or she simply observes an unbelted driver or passenger. Under a secondary law, an officer cannot ticket anyone for a safety belt violation unless the motorist is stopped for another infraction. It has been shown that states with primary laws have higher seat belt usage rates then those states that do not have primary laws.

North Carolina seat belt ticket laws are currently primary for front seat passengers and children and secondary for rear seat passengers. There will be changes to the law effective December 1, 2006. Currently the law states that all drivers and front seat passengers ages 16 and older must wear their seat belts. Both the lap and shoulder belt must be properly worn even if the position is equipped with an automatic shoulder belt or air bag. The driver of the vehicle is responsible for himself and all children less than sixteen. Passengers ages sixteen and older are responsible for themselves. The penalty is $25 along with court costs of $75.

North Carolina seat belt ticket laws as of December 1, 2006 will cover all drivers and passengers, in the rear seat as well as in the front seat; ages 16 and older must wear their seat belts. Drivers and front seat occupants older than 15 can be assessed the fine of $25 along with court costs. Rear seat passengers aged 15 and older will be assessed a penalty of $10. The driver is responsible to ensure that all passengers riding in the vehicle under age 16 are properly restrained.

Last 10 posts by Carolyn

Leave a Reply