My Current State: 

New York Seat Belt Ticket Laws


Posted by Carolyn

There are two types of safety belt laws, primary and secondary. A primary law allows a law enforcement officer to write a ticket if he or she simply observes an unbelted driver or passenger. Under a secondary law, an officer cannot ticket anyone for a safety belt violation unless the motorist is stopped for another infraction. It has been shown that states with primary laws have higher seat belt usage rates then those states that do not have primary laws. Studies have also shown that wearing a seat belt can reduce the number of motor vehicle fatalities by half. Each and every year more than 200 lives are saved and over 1,500 serious injuries prevented as a result of the increased use of seat belts.

New York seat belt ticket laws are primary and require that all front seat passengers wear their seat belts properly at all times. The driver and all front-seat passengers are required to wear seat belts, one person per belt. The driver and any front-seat passengers aged 16 or older can be fined up to $50 each if they fail to buckle up. If the violation involves a front-seat passenger under age 16, the driver can be fined from $25 to $100 and receive 3 driver license penalty points.

New York seat belt ticket laws hold the driver responsible for all passengers under the age of 16. Children under 80 pounds can safely wear a lap and shoulder belt. While it is not the law they should remain in a booster seat until such time, Also It is recommended that children under the age of 13 and weighing less than 100 pounds ride in the back seat. It is required under New York seat belt ticket laws that children under age 6 ride in an appropriate child safety seat.

Last 10 posts by Carolyn

Leave a Reply