My Current State: 

New Jersey Seat Belt Safety Laws


Posted by Carolyn

In the last 10 years it is estimated that more than 2,000 unbuckled motorists died as a result of motor vehicle accidents and more than 700 people were killed because they were not wearing seat belts and were thrown from the vehicle on New Jersey roadways.

There are two types of safety belt laws, primary and secondary. A primary law allows a law enforcement officer to write a ticket if he or she simply observes an unbelted driver or passenger. Under a secondary law, an officer cannot ticket anyone for a safety belt violation unless the motorist is stopped for another infraction. It has been shown that states with primary laws have higher seat belt usage rates then those states that do not have primary laws.

New Jersey seat belt ticket laws are primary. The law requires all passengers who are at least 8 years of age and less than 18, and each driver and front seat passenger of all passenger vehicles including pickup trucks, SUV’s and vans to wear a properly adjusted and fastened seat belt. The maximum fine for a first offense is $20. A driver and his adult front seat passengers may be cited individually.

New Jersey seat belt ticket laws hold driver responsible for proper seat belt use by all occupants who are under the age of 18. The law requires children under 8 and weighing less than 80 pounds to be seated in a child safety or booster seat in the rear of the vehicle. If there is no rear seat than they may be placed in the front as long as they are properly secured in a child safety seat. All passengers between the ages of 8 and 18 must be wearing a properly fastened seat belt at all times no matter where they are sitting in the vehicle.

Last 10 posts by Carolyn

Leave a Reply