My Current State: 

Montana Seat Belt Ticket Laws


Posted by Carolyn

There are two types of safety belt laws, primary and secondary. A primary law allows a law enforcement officer to write a ticket if he or she simply observes an unbelted driver or passenger. Under a secondary law, an officer cannot ticket anyone for a safety belt violation unless the motorist is stopped for another infraction. It has been shown that states with primary laws have higher seat belt usage rates then those states that do not have primary laws. Whether or not someone is belted in could be the difference between life and death, while studies vary by a few percentage points it has been shown that wearing a seat belt can decrease the number of fatalities by half.

Montana seat belt ticket laws are currently secondary. The driver and all occupants of the vehicle regardless of where they are sitting in the vehicle require seat belt use. The fine for not wearing a seat belt is $20. The penalty is not counted as a misdemeanor it may not be counted as a moving violation for purposes of suspending a driver’s license, and it is not counted against a driver’s record. The driver and all occupants of the vehicle age 16 and over may be cited individually if they are found to be in violation of the law.

Montana seat belt ticket laws are somewhat stricter when it comes to children. The law requires children under age 6 or weighing less than 60 pounds to ride in a federally approved car seat or booster seat. As the driver it is your responsibility to make sure that any children you are transporting either be properly secured in a child safety seat or booster seat or if they are old enough to be seated with a properly buckled seat belt. You can be fined up to $100.

Last 10 posts by Carolyn

Leave a Reply